• Technical IT

    Solutions delivered throughout the UK
  • Business Applications

    Solutions delivered throughout the UK
  • Professional Best Practice

    Solutions delivered throughout the UK
  • Professional Development

    Solutions delivered throughout the UK

ITIL v3 Qualification Scheme explained

11 October 2010

Many countries around the world are using Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) to help manage their IT communications. Its popularity is growing due to the fact that ITIL is helping companies develop a great foundation to systematically improve the delivery of IT consistently.

Gaining an ITIL qualification can be extremely useful if you are looking to work with ITIL on a daily basis. ITIL V3 Qualifications are available at four levels (see diagram below) with each certificate carrying a number of credits towards the advanced level qualifications.


Types of qualifications

The four types of qualifications are:

  • ITIL V3 Foundation qualification which is a two credit course aimed at individuals or professionals who require a basic understanding of how the ITIL framework is used within the organisation.
  • ITIL V3 Intermediate qualification offers two routes to choose from depending on the type of profession or career students are looking to pursue

    The ‘Lifecycle’ option contains five modules which are each worth three credits and includes:

    • Service design
    • Service transition
    • Service operation
    • Continual Service Improvement
    • Service strategy

    The ‘Capability’ option has four modules which are worth four credits each:

    • Planning, protection and optimisation
    • Service offerings
    • Release, control & validation
    • Operational support & analysis

    The course is then tied together with the ‘Managing Across the Lifecycle’ module which is a free-standing qualification, but is also the final module of the Service Lifecycle and/or Service Capability modules that leads to the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management.

  • ITIL Expert qualification is achieved by accumulating credits through the first two schemes. To gain expert qualification in ITIL you have to achieve a minimum of 22 credits from the previous ITIL qualifications; two of which must be from the Foundation module and five must be from the Managing Across the Lifecycle module which is the final step.
  • ITIL Master level is the highest qualification for ITIL and leads on to an ITSM professional certificate. The qualification is designed for individuals who can demonstrate defined ITIL practices within the organisation.

To find out more information on ITIL courses call Total Training Solutions on 0800 612 1299 or view our range of ITIL training courses.

New Articles


Keep in Touch